Monday, December 14, 2009

The Enchanted Wood by Enid Blyton, reviewed by Shreya Rawat

The Enchanted Wood by Enid Blyton

Reviewed by
Name: Shreya Rawat (10 years)
School: Delhi Public School, Indirapuram

The Enchanted Wood is part of The Faraway Tree series, written by Enid Blyton in 1939. Jo, Bessie and Fanny move to the country and find an Enchanted Wood right on their doorstep. Here they discover a very old tree, which is so tall that its branches grow beyond the clouds. The children meet magical characters that soon become their new friends – the toffee loving Moon-Face, Silky the fairy, and Saucepan Man. They also come across Dame Washalot, Mr. Watzisname and the Angry Pixie. They enjoy Pop biscuits and Well-I-Never-Rolls. At the very top of the tree they discover a ladder which leads them to a magical land, which changes on each visit. Together with their newfound friends the three children visit many strange and exciting lands like the Roundabout Land, the Land of Ice and Snow, the Land of Dame Slap, the Toyland, the Land of Take-What-You-Want and many others. They have many exciting adventures but also narrow escapes from the evil Snowman, the aggressive Dame Slap and the Red Goblins. Finally, they visit the Land of Birthdays where they celebrate Bessie´s birthday. Tired and weary they return home to fall asleep dreaming of the birthday celebration and brilliant fireworks.

No comments:

Post a Comment